Semantics Syllabus

Course Outline

Linguistics 525

Day

Reading

Assignment

Lecture

Background

Thu Jan 18     Semantics and word meaning  
Tue Jan 23     What's expected of you.  
Thu Jan 25 Chapter 1 & 2 Allwood, Anderson and Dahl. [Blackboard] Kearns. 1.1-1.3. Meaning. Denotations. Possible worlds. Truth conditions.   Sets and semantics, Possible worlds, entailments Invitation to semantics  
Tue Jan 30   Seneca kinship assignment Hints for Seneca kinship assignment    
Thu Feb 01 Chapter 3 & 4 Allwood, Anderson and Dahl. [Blackboard]   Summarizing logic Logic trees Translating English into statement logic,  
Tue Feb 06   Assignment: Allwood, Anderson, and Dahl, Exercises pp. 13, 14.    
Thu Feb 08 Chapter 3 & 4 Allwood, Anderson and Dahl. [Blackboard]   Predicate logic  
Tue Feb 13        
Thu Feb 15   Assignment: Allwood, Anderson, and Dahl, Exercises pp. 56, 57. 1, 2, 3 (use trees, as on. p. 49), 4[a, b, c], 5 Model solution to Assignment.    
Tue Feb 20 Chapter 1 Kearns. 1.4,1.6. Presupposition and Implicature   Implicature,  
Thu Feb 22   Assignment: Kearns (chapter 1) Exercises 4 and 8 (a-g). Kearns (chapter 2) 1[a,d,f,h]; 2, 6, 9[all],11[a,b,c,d,e,g],12[a], 15[all]    
Tue Feb 27 Chapter 2,3. Kearns. Translating English into propositional, predicate logic.   Predicate logic  
Thu Mar 01 Chapter 3. Kearns. Predicate logic. Assignment: Translation assignment. Alternative translations (optional replacement for sections 2 and 3 of translation assignment). Brief intro to logic Translating English into logic.  
Tue Mar 06        
Thu Mar 08 Chapter 3. Kearns. Predicate logic. Assignment: Chapter 3 , pp. 55,56, Exercises 1 (all), 2(a-e), 3 (d, f) Logic translation tutorial  
Tue Mar 13        
Thu Mar 15 Chapter 5. Kearns. Modality; possible worlds again; necessity, possibility; deontic and epistemic modality. Try this Modal Logic Playground   Modality and possible worlds. Possible worlds analysis of conditionals, Logic notes (pdf, html) Logical Form tutorial  
Tue Mar 20   Midterm: Due Apr 7, Midterm review, Midterm model answers., Entailment help General logic help,    
Thu Mar 22        
Tue Mar 27 H'day H'day H'day H'day
Thu Mar 29 H'day H'day H'day H'day
Tue Apr 03 Chapter 5. Kearns. Modality; possible worlds again ( ctd.) Midterm Given Out Today (due Apr. 11) Modality assignment (due April 18), Modality tutorial.    
Thu Apr 05        
Tue Apr 10 Chapter 7. Kearns. Referential Opacity Assignment: Kearns (chapter 7) 1, 2, 3 [Due April 18, same day as modality!] Indefinites and referential opacity.  
Thu Apr 12        
Tue Apr 17 Chapter 8. Kearns. Aspectual classes. Assignment: Exercises 1[a,d,e,f,g], 2[b,c,d], 3[a,b,c,d,e,f] (Due Apr 25), One word answers to these questions are worth 0 points. You must use the tests discussed in the chapter to provide evidence for your claims. Aspect tutorial, Lecture  
Thu Apr 19        
Tue Apr 24 Chapter 11. Kearns. Events. Assignment: Kearns (chapter 11) 1, 2, 3, 4 [Due May 2nd] (We will discuss 7 in class)    
Thu Apr 26        
Tue May 01 Chapter 2, 3, 5. Review. Logical form, scope ambiguity, implicature, entailment, presupposition. Model answer (modality), Model answer (opacity), Aspect assignment model answers, Event assignment model answers, 2017 Midterm model answers, Aspect tutorial,    
Thu May 03 Chapter 5,7, 8, 11. Review.     Last class day  
Tue May 08        
Thu May 10   2017 Final, Due May 11: 12:15 AM.    
Tue May 15        
Thu May 17        
Tue May 22